á é í ó ú

I’m going to tell you about my night. Can I tell you about my night? I think I will.

Let’s start at sixish, when Selfish was late logging on to RaiRO and I had no real plans otherwise. I decided I would look into doing some key-killing that I’ve wanted to for a while. That is, those two little Windows keys? They needed to go. On more than ten occasions I would be playing something full-screen, accidentally hit them when I meant to hit control (crouching in Half-Life 2 was quite an experience sometimes) and the menu would pop up, causing the game to minimize and in most cases crash. So the Windows keys had to go.

Caps Lock was another I figured I could either disable or put to better use. I never use that, either, and having it work as a normal Shift key was enticing, since i HATE ACCIDENTALLY TYPING LIKE THIS gODDAMNIT.

Step one? Simple, registry entry fixes it all up good. No more windows keys. Step two? Well, there’s a registry setting for that, too, but it overwrites the first. Still, not a problem. This little program solved that. Selfi continued to be late, so I spent a little time dicking around Wikipedia, as most people do from time to time. Mostly looking at keyboard things. Partly realizing that the only way I can type accented letters is by looking up an annoying Alt-numpad code that gets old when you’re doing things like trying to spell Spanish things correctly.

See, most international English keyboards have one alt key on the left and one AltGr key on the right. The AltGr key does different things depending on regional settings, but the one I wanted, a simple á é í ó ú ¡ ¿, is relatively standard for Latin languages. I tried one program that lets you remap keys.. Keytweak. It was okay for its purpose, but it’s purpose was not to change your Right Alt to AltGr. A few restarts later and undoing my Windows key “fixes” and I was back on the streets looking for a better program. Enter Keyboard Layout Manager. Well, it took like a half hour to get used to just the site, because I had to figure out which version to use. Still, it had AltGr capabilities…

Or so I thought. I would remap the keys so it used AltGr and set up the appropriate accented character to work. So far so good. Then I saved changes and it prompted me to log out. Since it’s a major edit, that was to be expected, so I logged out and then back in, and tried the keys in Notepad. Mhmm. Nothing at all changed. I decided to read the site a bit more and it hinted at not being able to edit stock keyboard layouts, which is understandable. I made a new one (named Canukistan, of course), set it to English (Canadian), and remapped all of the keys, which is a pain in the ass to do a second time. Then I saved, logged out, logged in, checked it in the language bar, opened Notepad and attempted an é. What did I get? An open Edit menu. God damnit.

Looking back in the program I saw that Canukistan saved absolutely no changes for some reason. So I tried again. After restarting the computer to be sure, I tried it in Notepad again. The only way I got an é was with control and alt held down. Which means it didn’t save the AltGr part, the part that I actually wanted. Wünderbar. Tried it again. No difference.

Somewhere around here Selfi logged onto RaiRO, just in time for it to be shut off for some update or another, I wasn’t paying attention. She logged onto AIM a bit later and tried helping me with it. I tried straight Hex editing of the registry by hand, but I couldn’t find anything that looked like the hex code for AltGr, so I had to give up.

Back on RaiRO, much MUCH later, and a dozen tries of I Don’t Even Know What later, Chalce decided to try and help. He pointed me to this, which is another good program that simply didn’t help (though I later used it to re-disable the Win keys). Then he directed me to this, which I downloaded, installed, and OH MY GODS IT WORKED. Only..

Yeah, just look at the link and take a look at the AltGr layouts. é is not on e, it’s on b, and there’s so much other crap going on that I’d never need. I just need the standard Latin. I tried editing that file in Keyboard Layout Dealie and it didn’t save the changes, naturally, though I didn’t want to try again for fear of disabling the AltGr support.

After fighting with a few other things, I decided to give the whole idea one more try before scrapping it and being happy with my deceased Windows keys and Caps Lock. I installed the English (Canada) keyboard layout under the English (Canada) language settings.

Notepad. é. Oh.

How was YOUR night?

4 Responses to “á é í ó ú”

  1. This is my longest article to date, and I think the length might beat all of the Dragonian Wars.

    I actually left out a few things here, too. I spent no fewer than four hours at this. The really pitiful part? These are all the characters I enabled:

    á é í ó ú Á É Í Ó Ú ¡ ¢ ¿ × ÷ ¬ » « ¦ › ‹ æ Æ ¹ ² ³ ®

    That’s it. Twenty-seven characters, maybe twelve of which are actually useful to me. And that’s assuming I ÉvÉ® use capitol accented vowels.

    But hey. At least I can spell Témoin.

  2. Oh, and also of note, I went into a lot of old posts and updated them. Turns out whenever I think “hey, I’ll fill that in later,” I never do. So now articles that have sentences that are just kind of cut off or clearly missing a word and make no sense are corrected.

    Though, in one case, Dragonian War part 2, I ran into something where I couldn’t even figure out what I was trying to say. It was just a weird collection of words, so I just restructured the sentence to make a little bit of sense.

  3. Hackzero Says:

    Hmm, so now your keyboard is Canadian, eh?

  4. Yés. Yés ít ís.

Leave a Reply

